open source CuBlas

Hi,

I was wondering if Nvidia has any plans for making the source code of the CuBlas library available. This would seem to be in the interest of everyone, particularly given that not all Blas functions have yet been implemented; also optimization and interoperability with other Blas libraries will be important once they have. I realize that Nvidia isn’t particularly keen on open source, but in this case it’s apparent that none of the usual reasons for this policy (eg: protecting intellectual property) apply. [I’m assuming here that the library is implemented exclusively in Cuda C-, with no assembler tricks]

Regards.

I suppose that by not replying, NVIDIA is undecided.
I would like to add my voice to that of noegenesis! If CuBlas is implemented in cuda-c then it would only be advantageous to NVIDIA that a few people start mucking about with it, trying to increase its performance or add features!

As a research student I believe that this move would be much appreciated all over academia.

We are going to make the source code of the CUBLAS and CUFFT libraries available.
The libraries are all written in Cuda, by the way.

Stay tuned!!!

I would also greatly appreciate the release of the CUBLAS source code. What are the latest news on this project ? Do you plan to make them available soon?

Yes, the source code for CUBLAS and CUFFT will be available soon.

Are these available at this time?

Source will be posted later this month

Does anyone have a link to the source code? I tried to google for it but appart from this thread, nothing interesting showed up. I couldn’t find it either in the downloads or the code examples.

Announcements & news :

[url=“The Official NVIDIA Forums | NVIDIA”]The Official NVIDIA Forums | NVIDIA

It is posted in the ‘CUDA Announcements and News’ forum:

[url=“The Official NVIDIA Forums | NVIDIA”]The Official NVIDIA Forums | NVIDIA

hehe, beat you by a minute ;)

Hi,