Optix scheduling / dynamic memory management?

Hello,

I’m kinda new to optix, so, first, sorry if this is covered elsewher, I might not have the keywords to find it.

I’m trying to recreate the general architecture of http://on-demand.gputechconf.com/gtc/2014/presentations/S4359-rt-em-wave-propagation-optix-sims-car-to-car-communication.pdf in optix.

The general idea is shooting millions of rays in a scene, and determining which rays reach a certain object (a sphere, representing an antenna) after diffractions, reflections, diffractions.

The authors use “dynamic memory management”:

Dynamic memory management:
• Allocate a global buffer for all threads;
• When a path needs to be stored, atomic operations ensure serialized buffer access;

Is there a general blueprint to implement a kind of “priority queue” in order to have threads starting new rays when they are finished (for example after a miss), and enabling them to schedule new rays as well (after a diffraction for example) ?

Welcom remy5t3km,

Generally speaking we don’t currently have a blueprint for a ray priority queue that we can offer. It depends pretty heavily on the details of your renderer, and for best performance you might want to avoid a queueing system anyway. The slides you reference are using a queueing system for specific reasons that might not apply unless your situation is very, very similar to the authors’.