Performance Boost Not Really Seen

Hey,
I’m new at CUDA and have been really excited about it, so I bought the book ‘Cuda by example’ and got all set up.
I got to about the end of chapter 3, when I decided I wanted to perform basic test of CPU against GPU with following code:

#include
#include <time.h>
#include <windows.h>

#define N 65530

global void add(int* a, int* b, int *c)
{
int tid = blockIdx.x;
if(tid < N)
{
for(int i=0; i<65000; i++)
{
c[tid] = a[tid] + b[tid];
}
}
}

void cpuAdd(int* a, int* b, int *c)
{
for(int s=0; s<N; s++)
{
for(int i=0; i<65000; i++)
{
c[s] = a[s] + b[s];
}
}
}

int main(void)
{
int a[N], b[N], c[N];
int *dev_a, *dev_b, *dev_c;

cudaMalloc((void**) &dev_a, N *sizeof(int) );
cudaMalloc((void**) &dev_b, N *sizeof(int) );
cudaMalloc((void**) &dev_c	, N *sizeof(int) );

//fill the arrays a and b on cpu
for(int i=0; i<N; i++)
{
	a[i] = -i;
	b[i] = i * i;
}

//copy the arrays a and b to the device
DWORD start = GetTickCount();
cudaMemcpy(dev_a, a, N * sizeof(int), cudaMemcpyHostToDevice);
cudaMemcpy(dev_b, b, N * sizeof(int), cudaMemcpyHostToDevice);

add<<<N, 1>>>(dev_a, dev_b, dev_c);

//copy the results to the computer
cudaMemcpy( c, dev_c, N * sizeof(int), cudaMemcpyDeviceToHost );
DWORD finish = GetTickCount();
DWORD timeTaken = finish - start;

//display the results
printf("it took %ld time to get the results \n", timeTaken);

//now test if was cpu
start = GetTickCount();

cpuAdd(a, b, c);

finish = GetTickCount();
timeTaken = finish - start;

//display the results
printf("it took %ld time to get the results from CPU \n", timeTaken);

//free the memory from the device
cudaFree( dev_a );
cudaFree( dev_b );
cudaFree( dev_c );

getchar();
return 0;

}

Unfortunately the results are not as good as I had hoped. Without the ‘for(int i=0; i<65000; i++)’ loop in the add functions, the CPU beats the GPU by a long time. With it, the GPU only just beats the CPU.

This is the results with for loop.
External Media