Possible bug in NVIDIA's L4T Debian packages for CUDA

There is a peculiarity with the Debian packages included with the the L4T r32.7.2 release:

The nvidia-l4t-cuda package installs libraries into /usr/lib/aarch64-linux-gnu/tegra but the nvidia-l4t-core package configures the shared library search path to be /usr/lib/tegra, a directory that does not exist in the sample root filesystem.

Is there a mistake in the nvidia-tegra.conf file?

Because of this, the symlink libcuda.so.1 -> libcuda.so.1.1 does not get created by ldconfig. Several tools seem to expect libcuda.so.1, including the NVIDIA Container Toolkit and deviceQuery if I build it from the CUDA Toolkit 10.2 samples.

The Debian Policy Manual says,

The run-time library package should include the symbolic link for the SONAME that ldconfig would create for the shared libraries. For example, the libgdbm3 package should include a symbolic link from /usr/lib/libgdbm.so.3 to libgdbm.so.3.0.0.

I’m not an expert on Debian packaging but it seems that the nvidia-l4t-cuda package doesn’t follow this rule; the SONAME of the library is libcuda.so.1 but the package does not contain a file by that name.

Hi,

Both libcuda.so.1 and libcuda.so.1.1 are presented in our environment.
Could you please double-check your environment or setting?

$ ll /usr/lib/aarch64-linux-gnu/tegra/libcuda.so*
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root       14 Feb 19  2022 /usr/lib/aarch64-linux-gnu/tegra/libcuda.so -> libcuda.so.1.1
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root       14 Dec 10 09:15 /usr/lib/aarch64-linux-gnu/tegra/libcuda.so.1 -> libcuda.so.1.1
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 15870624 Feb 19  2022 /usr/lib/aarch64-linux-gnu/tegra/libcuda.so.1.1

Thanks.

Thank you for your reply.

I assume that programs like deviceQuery are working for you? Could you also please include the output of this command? It tells me what your library search paths are and which packages they came from.

for F in /etc/ld.so.conf /etc/ld.so.conf.d/*.conf; do
    dpkg -S $F; cat $F; echo
done