Possible reasons for CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH_TIMEOUT Error 702 when calling cuCtxSynchronize

Hi,

I am new to CUDA and would like to ask about what the common reasons for getting Error 702 (CUDA_ERROR_LAUNCH_TIMEOUT) are. I am calling many different kernel functions, and sometimes cuLaunchGrid returns CUDA_SUCCESS but everything after (of which the first call is cuCtxSynchronize, returns the mentioned error.

I read this thread,
[url=“http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=39652&pid=217831&mode=threaded&show=&st=&#entry217831”]http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtop...t=&#entry217831[/url]
according to which some possible reasons might be too many registers/thread, too much shared memory/block or that the kernel runtime exceeds the time allowed.

According to my cubin file I am using at most 12 registers/thread in one of my kernel functions, and since I am using blocks which are 1616, this should be fine
(16
16*12 = 3 072 registers/block < 8192, so there is room for more than one block per multiprocessor) as far as I’ve understood.
Also, according to my cubin file I am using at most 40 bytes of shared memory per block (and 40 bytes < 16 kB). I am not allocating any shared memory in my kernel functions.

I have some really simple kernels, like

extern “C”
global void computeRho(float* d_result, float* d_R, float* d_Z, int width, int height)
{
int index = (blockIdx.x * blockDim.x + threadIdx.x)*width + (blockIdx.y * blockDim.y + threadIdx.y);

d_result[index] = d_R[index] * d_Z[index];

}

I’ve measured the time needed for the kernel call like this:
unsigned int timer = 0;
CUT_SAFE_CALL( cutCreateTimer( &timer));
CUT_SAFE_CALL( cutStartTimer( timer));

CUresult launchLfunc = cuLaunchGrid( computeL, height / block_size, width / block_size );
printf(“Launch L function: %d\n”, launchLfunc);

CUresult synch = cuCtxSynchronize();
printf(“Managed to synch %d\n”, synch);

CUT_SAFE_CALL( cutStopTimer( timer));