Problem in getting __device__ dynamic array data back to host

Dear developers, I would like to ask you some help about using GPU device memory. I need to dynamically allocate an array on the device which is updated by different calls to a global function within the application run. I am not able to get back results on the host, so probably I am making some mistakes (and probably I did not understand something; I am a chemist, not a programmer). May you help me, please? Here follows the minimal sand-box code that is giving me problems.

#include #include <stdlib.h>
#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>
#include <math.h>
#include <cuda_runtime_api.h>
#include <cublas.h>

__device__ double *test;

__global__ void test_init()
{
   test[0] = sqrt(2.0);
   test[1] = sqrt(3.0);
}

int main( int argc, char** argv)
{
   double *tt = (double *)malloc(2 * sizeof(double));
   cudaMalloc((void**)&test, 2 * sizeof(double));
   test_init();
   cudaMemcpyFromSymbol((void**)&tt, "test", 2 * sizeof(double), 0, cudaMemcpyDeviceToHost);
   printf("

%lf, %lf

",tt[0],tt[1]);
   return 0;
}

This code (run on Tesla M2050, compute capability 2.0, nvcc v4.2) gives as output:

0.000000, 0.000000

while it should print the square roots of 2.0 and 3.0. What am I doing wrong? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Best regards,

Mirco

Try:

cudaMemcpyFromSymbol((void**)&tt, "test", sizeof(tt), 0, cudaMemcpyDeviceToHost);

in line 21.

MK

Thank you for your prompt reply. I tried as you suggested, but it is still giving me the same output, i.e.

0.000000, 0.000000

It seems like there is no transfer of data. I also tried to init tt elements to 1.0 and, as result, the program outputs

1.000000, 1.000000

So tt is not changed at all from the cudaMemcpyFromSymbol call. If I do the same with a scalar double it works, but unfortunately I need an array, possibly dynamically allocated.

Any other clues / suggestions?

Thank you.

Mirco

cudaMalloc((void**)&test, 2 * sizeof(double));