Problem with running OptiX 6.5 program. "invalid value for --gpu-architecture"

Hi all,

I am new to OptiX. I am trying to writing a simple program to exam my understanding to OptiX.

However, I got problems with compiling my OptiX program. I compile my main.cpp file with nvcc by following command:

nvcc -m64 -gencode arch=compute_75,code=sm_75 -I${OPTIX_PATH}/include -I${OPTIX_PATH}/SDK -o main.exe main.cpp -L${OPTIX_PATH}/lib64 -loptix -loptixu -lsutil_sdk

There were no errors when compilation. But when I tried running the program, I got:

OptiX Error: 'NVRTC Compilation failed.
nvrtc: error: invalid value for --gpu-architecture (-arch)

Here are my system infomations:
System: Ubuntu 20.04
GPU: RTX 2060
NVIDIA Driver Version: 450.66
CUDA Version: 11.0
OptiX Version: 6.5

I have upload my program to GitHub GitHub - Adiolph/OptiX-test: A simple test project for learning OptiX

Can someone help me figure out which part is wrong?

Thanks in advance!
Fan

EDIT:
I tried build the OptiX SDK program by cmake, but I get the same error.
It seems like there is some thing wrong with my CUDA or NVIDIA Driver. But I can’t figure out why.

EDIT2:
After update my driver version to 455.23.04, I am able to run OptiX 7.2 SDK samples. But I still get error when running OptiX 6.5 SDK samples.

First of all, if you’re starting new with OptiX and you can run the OptiX SDK 7.2.0 examples, there is little reason to look at earlier versions.
OptiX 6.5.0 and OptiX 7 have a completely different API and OptiX 7 is the future.
Please read this post: https://forums.developer.nvidia.com/t/optix-7-breaking-changes/156801

For more resources about OptiX 7, follow the links in the sticky posts of this sub-forum.
https://forums.developer.nvidia.com/t/optix-7-2-release/156619

About your issues:

1.) OptiX SDK 6.5.0 is not officially supporting CUDA 11 versions.