Question about coalesced memory access

Hi!

I’m new with cuda and need your help. I try to understand the meaning of coalesced memory and how to use it. My kernel works with 16-Bit unsigned short arrays. The programming guide shows that a per thread access of 2 Bytes is coalesced, if all words lie in a 64 byte segment. But, why a 64byte segment? A 32byte segment is big enough, or not?

In my case they lie in a 32byte segment. A 64 byte segment contained data for 32 threads in my case. Would that be coalesced?

Thanks in advance!

If you want to read 2byte data with 32 threads (thats the warp size, and coalescing can be done only per warp anyway) and every thread accesses another 2byte for full coalescing you would need those to lie within one 64byte (32*2) part of the memory. If several threads access the same element (say thread 0 and 1 access element 0; 2 and 3 element 1 and so on) it would still be done with one read.
If one half of your threads read their data from one 64 byte segment, and the other half from another 64 byte segment, it would be done in 2 memory fetch operations. Generally: if a warp reads 2byte data from n different 64 byte segments (no matter which thread accesses which element) n memory fetch operations are issued.

Best regards
Ceearem

Thanks for this answer!

Are you shure? I thought only a HALF warp will access a segment!?

regards1!

What compute capability are you on? I don’t think CC < 1.2 will coalesce at all (though I’ve only ever worked on CC 1.3, so I’m not very familier with it).

For CC >= 1.2 Ceerarem’s explaination is correct except that most places where it reads “warp” it should read “half warp”.

EDIT: Further info (CC >= 1.2) - if you are aligned and accessing a 32 byte segment in a half-warp the memory transaction will be only 32 bytes, rather than 64 as there is a mechanism to reduce the transaction size. Allowing 2-byte data to sit in a 64 byte segment allows you to do better if you are unaligned, or have a stride.