Coalesced?

I’m new to CUDA programming, and I’m having trouble making my code faster. My main concern is that the memory accesses aren’t being coalesced, and I can’t get the profiler to work with the counters or timestamps :(. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!

This is my kernel:

#define BLOCK_SIZE 128

__global__ void transform(cufftComplex* output, cufftComplex* f, int fM, int fN, float TWOPI, int fxN, int fyN)

{

int bx = blockIdx.x;

int tx = threadIdx.x;

int index = tx + (bx * BLOCK_SIZE);

int ifx = (int) (index)%fxN;

int ify = (int) (index)/fxN;

int end = fN*fM;

int step = BLOCK_SIZE;

if(ifx < fxN && ify < fyN)

{

int check = 0;

float x, y, fx, fy, dx, dy, m, n;

int ix, iy;

cufftComplex tot = make_cuFloatComplex(0,0);

cufftComplex med;

__shared__ cufftComplex fTile[BLOCK_SIZE];

for (int i = 0; i < end; i += step)

{

if(tx + i < end)

fTile[tx] = f[tx + i];

__syncthreads();

if (end-i < BLOCK_SIZE)

check = end - i;

else check = BLOCK_SIZE;

for (int j = 0; j < check; j++)

{

ix = (j + i)%fM;

iy = (j + i)/fM;

x = x_const[ix];

y = y_const[iy];

fx = fx_const[ifx];

fy = fy_const[ify];

dx = dx_const[ix];

dy = dy_const[iy];

m = -TWOPI*((x*fx)+(y*fy));

n = dx*dy;

med = make_cuFloatComplex(n * __cosf(m), n * __sinf(m));

tot = cuCaddf(tot, cuCmulf(med, fTile[j]));

}

__syncthreads();

}

output[index] = tot;

}

}

Any ideas? :wacko:

I can’t see where exactly is the problem with coalescing. What is the BLOCK_SIZE?

BTW Is declaring the shared array within the loop intended?

Let’s see:

• I’m assuming you used cudaMalloc() to assign memory to output and f. If so, then the memory is properly aligned (to 256 bytes to be more precise), and the reads and writes are coalesced.
  • you’re reading 8-byte (64-bit) types
  • You’re using a constant base, with the kth thread accessing the kth element. (evidenced by [constBase + tx])