Question about vector access performance

Hi all.

I am new to CUDA development so I apologise if my questions sound dumb.

In the past I have been working in some algorithms that are calculated using CPU based distributed computing. This computing, to sum up, involves performing some kind of more or less complex graph evolution. Looking for an improvement in the performances I’m now working on modifying these algorithms to run in a GPU.

However, my first preliminary tests are giving me unexpected results. I’ve arranged a over-simplified version of the algorithm consisting on performing accesses to a vector, and storing in another vector the sum of the values accessed. I have two versions of the algorithm, one for CPU and another for GPU

#include <cuda_runtime.h>
#include <helper_cuda.h>
#include <conio.h>

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

__host__ void procesaGrafo(

double *h_vector,
	double *h_resultado,
	int size)
{

for (int x = 0; x < size; x++)
	{
		h_resultado[x] = 0;
		for (int y = x - 100; y < x + 100; y++)
			if (y >= 0 && y < size)
				h_resultado[x] += h_vector[y];
	}

}

__global__ void procesaGrafoKernel(
	double *d_vector,
	double *d_resultado,
	int   size)
{

int index = blockIdx.x * blockDim.x + threadIdx.x;
  int stride = blockDim.x * gridDim.x;
  if (index == 0)

printf("Bloque %d, hilo %d, dimension rejilla %d, dimension bloque %d, indice %d, stride %d\n", blockIdx.x, threadIdx.x, gridDim.x, blockDim.x, index, stride);

for (int x = index; x < size; x+=stride)
	{
		d_resultado[x] = 0;
		for (int y = x - 100; y < x + 100; y++)
			if (y >= 0 && y < size)
				d_resultado[x] += d_vector[y];

}

}

Then I allocate memory for both local and device arrays, fill up the data vector with some data, execute both and measure the time required to perform this by the CPU, and then by the GPU:

#define VECSIZE 100000

cudaDeviceProp verifica()
{

int devicesCount;
    cudaGetDeviceCount(&devicesCount);
	//devicesCount has the number of GPUs