setting isolcpus

On Ubuntu with amd64, you can easily set isolcpus in GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX in the /etc/default/grub and then reboot.

I’ve searched around and it seems there are a bunch of ways to set this which vary by Jetson type and versions. I’m wondering if there’s a simple way to set this on the Nano.

You need to edit the “chosen” entry in the device tree. You could extract the existing device tree, edit that, and then flash the new tree (though early boot stages do alter this somewhat it should work). You can extract a running system’s tree like this:

dtc -I fs -O dts -o extracted.dts /proc/device-tree
# Now edit. Then recreate:
dtc -I dts -O dtb -o edited.dtb extracted.dts

Use that for flash.

Note: GRUB only works on PCs (PCs have a BIOS/UEFI, embedded systems do not).

Thanks, I got the tree extracted, but I’m a noob and have no idea where to set the isolcpu command.

Also, I keep seeing references to flash or flash.sh and have no idea where to find that. What do I run afterwards?

In the device tree “chosen” entry the content is equivalent to whatever you’d pass to the kernel if you were using GRUB. It isn’t a command so much as it is an argument being passed to the kernel as it starts.

If you were to use GRUB and add “isolcpus” the command line, then finding “chosen” in the dts file (a device tree source is plain text), and within “chosen” find “bootargs”, then the “bootargs” are the same as what would gone into “GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX”. This is just a space delimited plain text line (it is a single long line…don’t break it up).

As an example I see this for “chosen/bootargs” on an R32.1 Jetson TX2 “/proc/device-tree/chosen/bootargs” (the dts file is a tree format, the “/proc/device-tree/” is a file format, the installed and flashed format is a binary “.dtb”):