Several H/W related Questions

Hi all,

I’m a newbie with CUDA, so have several questions.

I’m planning to build quite a robust ray tracing system with CUDA. So my first thing to do is to select
graphics cards. :rolleyes:

• It seems to me that Quadro Plex products are far more expensive than Geforce serieses, while their
    computation power difference (in terms of flops) is not to big. (e.g., GTX 280(295) vs Quadro Plex D2).
    So my first question is whether I should buy Quadro or Geforce.

• If I use two GTX 280 cards and interconnect them using SLI, then can CUDA use them as if they were a single
    device? If so, does it mean total 2GB memory availability? (GTX 280 has 1GB of memory)

• finally, in a system with a arbtrary non-CUDA graphics card (ATI or old nVidia) and a CUDA-ready card,
    can I use CUDA for computation and display for another arbitrary card? I’ve seen several postings on this issue,
    but quite confusing. (Maybe, the answer is “it depends”? External Image )

Many thanks in advance.

• I think you can use two card simultaneously for computing if you disable SLI, but in that case they won’t share memory.

• It’s possible. You only have to configure properly your system.

You can get use a non CUDA card to display on the screen. In fact the Tesla boards dont have a display port. You will just need to copy the rendering from the CUDA device(s) to an openGL/directx/whatever texture/surface on the display card. In my experience you lose a few fps doing it this way due to the slowness of the pci bus transfer - but it does work.