shared memory Computation become slower when using the shared memory

Hi all,

I am still new to the CUDA, I have a code that I am working on optimizing it.

the code doesn’t use the shared memory, so i tried using the shared memory to reduce the global memory access.

lets say that i have something like this : (this code is just an example for the idea. and might not compile)

[codebox]

int i,j;

float result, temp;

temp = 0.0;

result = 0.0;

for (i = 0;i<3; i++){

for (j=0;i<10;j++){

temp += cos(gData[idx]);

}

result += temp/10;

}

oData[idx] = results;

[/codebox]

so my shared memory implementation like this:

[codebox]

shared float sData[768];

int i,j;

float result, temp;

for ( i=0;i<3;i++)

sData[threadIdx.x + blockDim.x * i] = gData[idx];

cudathreadsync();

temp = 0.0;

result = 0.0;

for (i = 0;i<3; i++){

for (j=0;i<10;j++){

temp += cos(sData[threadIdx.x + blockDim.x * i]);

}

result += temp/10;

}

oData[idx] = results;

[/codebox]

I reduces the global memory load hits 10 times. (j loop)

but the application ended running slower.

system is Geforce 295

block size is 256 (up to 4 can be computed per SM 1024 threads limit)

my shared memory usage is 1520 byte per block (6080 per SM still ok for 4 blocks)

my registers is 13 per thread (13,312 per SM thats still ok for 4 blocks in 295 cards)

I was thinking maybe the extra calculations that needed to be done for the addresses of the shared and global memory that I needed to make my memory access coalesced is putting more computation and slowing down my code ~ i am not sure, I tried everything I know so far. any help ?

my speedup (slowdown ) is 0.9 X

Shared memory is useful for communication between different threads of the same block. In your case, the same thread is reading the same array element ten times in a row. The compiler will optimize this and keep the array element in a register, so that there is no benefit to using shared memory.