Strange CUDA_ERROR_SHARED_OBJECT_SYMBOL_NOT_FOUND error from cudaMallocManaged

Hi Folks,

I’m a CUDA newbie porting some existing math-heavy code to CUDA, and I’ve hit an intractable problem - I’ve ported a fair bit of code just fine, but have now hit a problem where cudaMallocManaged is failing with CUDA_ERROR_SHARED_OBJECT_SYMBOL_NOT_FOUND. The strange thing is that whether this error appears or not, depends entirely on what the device procedure contains.

If the device code contains a call to either f1() or f2() then everything is fine, but as soon as it contains a call to both I hit the CUDA_ERROR_SHARED_OBJECT_SYMBOL_NOT_FOUND error.

I’m assuming that cudaMallocManaged is a bystander here - it’s the first CUDA runtime called so I assume this is the point at which the device meta-code gets translated for the actual hardware? Could I be hitting some kind of size limit here?

Many thanks!

I think you’re on the right track with your thought process.

A symbol not found error can occur when you have device code that incorporates a failure detectable at load time. Such failures might be a device binary that does not match the GPU you are trying to run on, for example.

A way that these errors can creep in is if you are specifying a compilation that involves compile to PTX only (or compile to PTX+SASS, but not specifying the correct SASS architecture for your GPU). Either of these approaches can involve a JIT-compile at runtime/load-time. This JIT compile can fail (e.g. hitting a machine limit) and as a result you have no binary for your GPU, so things won’t work, and one of the side-effects is that device symbols are not loaded/visible. If your first evidence of this is a “bystander” operation that touches a device symbol, you’ll get a wierd device-symbol-not-found error. A full walk-through of such a case is here:

[url]nvcc - CUDA invalid device symbol error - Stack Overflow