The best Linux desktop environment setup for hybrid Intel+Nvidia in 2020?

I’m hoping someone with some experience in this can chime in. I am new to GPU switching.

I’m curious what you think is the best (in terms of performance, GPU switching ease, stability, and as bonus but not necessary battery saving) desktop environment and driver setup in order to be able to toggle (automatically or not) between GPUs.

There’s a bunch of material out there, but they can be dated, so I’m not always sure if something I find is still relevant (or if it is but there’s something that’s actually better).

I have an HP Zbook x360 G5 convertible laptop, with currently this setup which gives me a buttery-smooth Gnome experience, but with no GPU switching:

[trusktr@manjattan ~]$ inxi -G
Graphics:
  Device-1: NVIDIA GP107GLM [Quadro P2000 Mobile] driver: nvidia v: 440.64 
  Display: x11 server: X.org 1.20.7 driver: nvidia 
  resolution: <xdpyinfo missing> 
  OpenGL: renderer: Quadro P2000/PCIe/SSE2 v: 4.6.0 NVIDIA 440.64 

I have Gnome’s Wayland support enabled. I’m hoping to be able to use Wayland, but from the material I found all the GPU switching stuff seems to be aimed at Xorg (which makes sense as it is much older).

From what I’ve read (again maybe dated) Gnome and KDE are the only desktop envs to add EGLStream support, for Wayland, but if I need to Xorg instead of Wayland for GPU switching then maybe that doesn’t matter.

I don’t mind having to restart my login session to switch GPUs. Most of the time I don’t need the dGPU. I am okay restarting the login session to get into gaming/graphics mode, and switching back otherwise.

In your opinion, what’s the latest and best way (in terms of both hardware and software) to use GPU switching while having the most operational and stable DE experience in Linux?

I just want to note that things can be confusing for a newcomer in this area.