What hardware to get?

I’m aiming at buying a Tesla C1060 and put together a stand-alone computer for the sole purpose of running computations. I figure I’ll need the C1060 for the 4 GB memory as my computations use a lot of memory (I now run them using CPUs). I’m just starting out with CUDA so I’ve got a lot to learn.

I’m curious, what CPU (speed, multi-core), RAM (speed/size) and motherboard (speed, components) do I need to get to have optimal computational performance of the Tesla/GPU? In case I need to do a lot of round trips to and from the GPU versus rarely? If I’m able to run all computations on the GPU, does it even matter what CPU and RAM I use as long as I got a PCIe slot? I want to have the best performance without any “overkill” hardware.

If you run everything on the GPU, the CPU matters not at all. I haven’t had a chance to play with the new G200 chips yet, but my 8800 GTX system is running on a ~4 year old CPU and I don’t notice a bit of performance difference in other systems with modern CPUs.

Well, I shouldn’t say not at all: because if you are running a multi-GPU system you need one CPU core per GPU, as CUDA spin-waits for tasks to finish on the GPU.

If you need the best CPU->GPU memory copy performance, be careful with Mobo chipset you get. You can find benchmarks scattered around the forums for some, but the PCIe v2 Intel chipsets have consistently outperformed the PCIe v2 NVIDIA chipsets (to the tune of 6 GiB/s vs 4 GiB/s). If you don’t care too much about the memory copy performance, then any Mobo with a PCIe 16x slot will do.

Thanks for the response. Do you know what RAM was used to get 6 GB/s? I wonder if using faster DDR3-memory improves PCIe performance…

Tom’s hardware RAM speed test