Which hardware should I get? Hardware for massive CFD calculations

I’m not sure if this question was answered before, if it was, I’m sorry for repeating it. There are a number of similar topics on the forums, but they don’t exactly answer my questions.

Even though I’m not new to programming, I’m very new to GPU programming. I’m involved in research around Large Eddy Simulations (LES) and Direct Numerical Simulations (DNS). These type of analysis is very similar to Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD) calculations, except that I’m dealing with massive size grids (well over 100 million cells). The problem with these types of calculations is the fact that they also require massive computational power (standard computer clusters are usually not enough to complete so many calculations). This is where there is a need for massive parallel computer, ie. CUDA and GPU computing. The code is based around Fortran and some visualization with Matlab and does require double precision.

My question is: For these types of analysis, would I be better off with a commercial graphics card with less memory but faster speed and bandwidth (GTX 280) or with a slower HPC card with more memory (Tesla C1060)? There is some visualization involved, by the main concern is about doing the calculations.

At this point I’m involved in creating a proof of concept code that will showcase the power of GPU computing, since my adviser and the people who we do research for (NASA, Boeing, and DoD) are very skeptical of this. If they like what they see, there will be a number of grants coming my way to build a small scale cluster to do even more research.