AI fundamentals course difficulties

hey everyone,

I’m a newb and was trying to work my way through the NVIDIA AI fundamentals course when I hit two snags.

1. I’m using a Pi v2 camera and when I ran the included script within the tutorial series it gave me this error:

"docker: Error response from daemon: error gathering device information while adding custom device “/dev/video0”: no such file or directory.
"
I read that if you delete "–device /dev/video0 " it would allow you to run the script. I went ahead and deleted the line and sure enough I was able to proceed. However, I’m now confused if my camera will even be recognized now? Will it not be recognized? Is there some other modification I need to make to this script to do that?

1. Thoguh I was able to get that script to run and did get inside the container, when I clicked on the included jupyter notebooks link contained within the documentation the notebooks never load and the tab eventually times out. I’m completely stumped as to how to troubleshoot this. Any ideas?

Here’s the link to the course page with the code and jupyter link:
https://courses.nvidia.com/courses/course-v1:DLI+S-RX-02+V2/courseware/b2e02e999d9247eb8e33e893ca052206/63a4dee75f2e4624afbc33bce7811a9b/?activate_block_id=block-v1%3ADLI%2BS-RX-02%2BV2%2Btype%40sequential%2Bblock%4063a4dee75f2e4624afbc33bce7811a9b

1 Like

Hi @nbarrow85, when using a MIPI CSI camera (like the rPI v2 camera) within Docker container, you should launch the container with the following command-line option included:

-v /tmp/argus_socket:/tmp/argus_socket

However it is also good to test that you can view your camera outside of the container first. If you run nvgstcapture-1.0 from your Jetson (outside of container), you should see your camera’s video feed if you have a display attached to your Jetson.