AMD and OpenCL

Hi,
If I wasnt too paranoid, I’d think AMD deserted their GPU
“AMD does reverse GPGPU, announces OpenCL SDK for x86”

http://arstechnica.com/hardware/news/2009/…sdk-for-x86.ars

eyal

Yes, it has no-sense at this point, because the main problem will be to target GPU, and it’s a matter of algorithms more than a matter of code optimization, so developping on a CPU without any access to real GPU is pointless.

You may develop on a CPU (for CUDA), but you should test, compare and challenge your code on GPU at some point.

I hope AMD will have a good OpenCL GPU implementation as fast as possible, we all need nVidia to be challenged :-)

Actually, having a CPU code-path for OpenCL is very smart. The most annoying thing about using CUDA in my current work is having to provide separate CPU code paths for systems which do not have a GPU. I am not very experienced in writing multicore SSE code, but am quite happy writing CUDA code. I have long wished for a compiler option to nvcc which could convert my CUDA code to an optimized CPU implementation. (There was a flurry of work on this a year ago, including some academic papers and rumors of nvcc being updated to do this, then silence. I assume that means it turned out to be harder than it sounds.)

Once the CPU-only implementations of OpenCL get good, there will be even greater incentive for people to learn the language, because it will benefit all of their users, rather than just those with supported GPUs. And you will only have to implement your algorithm once, not twice. (Or three times. AMD’s Bulldozer CPUs should be a very interesting fusion of CPU and GPU design.)

The fact that they shipped a CPU version first is what I find weird… like their GPU version (OpenCL or not) is not good enough.

In anycase I think this dual thing will become un-needed. You currently need both CPU and GPU versions because GPU is not mainstream.