Basic reduction with CUDA

I am a beginner programmer in CUDA. As a beginner exercise, I thought I’d follow http://developer.download.nvidia.com/compute/cuda/1.1-Beta/x86_website/projects/reduction/doc/reduction.pdf and write some reduction algorithms. What my program should do is exactly as follows:

It takes a large float array as input. The input array is simply an array starting at 0 and incrementing by 1.

It carries out a partial reduction on the array. The result should be 1/512 th of the initial array and each element of the result is the sum of 512 elements of the input array.

The main program does the same summation in the CPU and compares the results.

This is my code so far:

#include <stdio.h>
#include <math.h>

#define THREAD_COUNT 512

//-----------------this is basically the first reduction algorithm given in the reference----------
__global__ void gbest_power_sums1(float* result, float* powers){

__shared__ float sdata[THREAD_COUNT];
        unsigned int tid = threadIdx.x;
        long i = blockIdx.x*blockDim.x + threadIdx.x;
        sdata[tid] = powers[i];
        __syncthreads();

unsigned int s;
        for(s=1; s<blockDim.x; s *= 2){
                if(tid % (2*s) == 0){
                        sdata[tid] += sdata[tid + s];
                }
                __syncthreads();
        }

if(tid == 0)
                result[blockIdx.x] = sdata[0];
}

int main(){

unsigned long input_size = 1<<18;

unsigned long output_size = input_size / THREAD_COUNT;

//------------prepare the input----------------------------------------------------------------
        float* input;
        float* input_dev;
        input = (float*) malloc(sizeof(float) * input_size);
        cudaMalloc(&input_dev, sizeof(float) * input_size);

long i;
        for(i=0; i<input_size; i++){
                input[i] = i;
        }
        cudaMemcpy(input_dev, input, sizeof(float) * input_size, cudaMemcpyHostToDevice);