Beginner To CUDA

Hy All,

I am Engineering Student and currently working on Unmanned vehicles for which I have extensive use of Image Processing and Video Processing. I am very new to CUDA , in fact just happened to come across it and the features kind of fascinated me. What I would like to clarify through my first post is how CUDA can facilitate Video Processing. My Vehicle would be involved in lots of processing like object racking , detection , RGB filtering etc , i would like to know if CUDA is actually helpful in accelerating this process ? Also when is the VS2008 compatible with CUDA ?

Thank you

Regards

Ajay Nair

How do you currently do things like object tracking etc? If you do stuff like calculate pixel data and base the recognition on that then I am sure CUDA would give be a good avenue to go down.

Do you have existing software which you would port or are you writing from scratch?

Thank you for your reply ! I currently do it by Aforge.Net which is an image processing tool written in C# and works pretty nice !!

code.google.com/p/aforge/

There are standard functions that does RGB filtering and stuff. and object tracking, yeah I guess I have always known to track objects by pixel calculations and nuthing else (do lemme know if u know other methods ). So will it help me ? and HOW ?

Hey all ! I expected a little more support from this forum for a newbie to CUDA !

In anticipation of support !!

Ajay Nair

It’s very hard to tell whether a given piece of software we know little about is easy to reimplement into CUDA.

First what you need to do is understand the algorithms in the program you’re using currently. You will have a hard time efficiently porting a piece of software to CUDA without in-depth knowledge of what is being done and how can you translate it to massive parallelism.