Can nvvidconv load a frame from CPU buffer to NVMM buffer in Gstreamer pipeline?

Hello!

I am quite new to Gstreamer, I have coded a framegrabber, say MySrc, and so far I was writting to the CPU buffer. I am not using one of the provided framegrabbers (like v4l2src) because my camera is not UVC. The following pipeline works

gst-launch-1.0 MySrc ! videoconvert ! ximagesink

Now I was trying to do the same with nvvidconv and nvoverlaysink, but the following does not work:

gst-launch-1.0 MySrc ! 'video/x-raw, format=(string)RGBA' ! nvvidconv ! 'video/x-raw(memory:NVMM), format=(string)NV12' ! nvoverlaysink -e

All I get it a red flickering screen :/ I am wondering whether I missed something; I have seen that there is this NvBuffer that access (memory:NVMM) in L4T and I saw there was this

#include "gst/allocators/gstdmabuf.h"

in Gstreamer, but I am a bit inexperienced when it comes to buffer.

If anyone could let me know I’d appreciate!

You may try to use verbose mode with videoconvert in order to see what format is used:

gst-launch-1.0 <b>-v</b> MySrc ! videoconvert ! ximagesink

Note the format used as output (SRC) of MySrc. Should be a line such as:

/GstPipeline:pipeline0/MySrc:MySrc0.GstPad:src: caps ="video/x-raw\,\ format\=\(string\)..."

Is it RGBA format or another one ? If another one, is supported as input for nvvidconv ? You may check with:

gst-inspect-1.0 nvvidconv

and check for its input (SINK) capabilities.
You may also check same way which formats MySrc claims to provide with:

gst-inspect-1.0 MySrc

You may also activate gstreamer debug, but be aware that increasing debug level may result in a huge amount of messages:

GST_DEBUG=*:3 gst-launch-1.0 MySrc ! 'video/x-raw, format=(string)RGBA' ! nvvidconv ! 'video/x-raw(memory:NVMM), format=(string)NV12' ! nvoverlaysink -e

Be also sure to have a monitor connected and maybe a session opened for using nvoverlaysink.

Hi PasToutSeul!
Thanks for your support. When I run