Compiling for a GTX 950M

Hi,

I’m really new at PGI compilers and OpenACC, I’m following the tutorials and guides.

I wanted to know how to compile my accelerated code for a NVIDIA GTX 950M. I know that for a tesla i just need to do:

make jsolvec.exe OPT="-ta:tesla:cc60-Minfo=accel"

How should i do it for my gtx gpu? when i try to change tesla to gtx i get errors saying that gts is not a keyword.

thanks

Hi Caap,

GTX950 is a Maxwell based card so has a compute capability of 5.0 (-ta=tesla:cc50). “-ta=tesla:cc60” will target a Pascal based card.

FYI, you can run the PGI utility “pgaccelinfo” to get more information about your card, including the “-ta” option to use.

Hope this helps,
Mat

Hi mkcolg,

thanks for your reply. So, if i understood, running with “make jsolvec.exe OPT=”-ta:tesla:cc50 -Minfo=accel" it will run on my gtx?

I already tried that command before, but the result is a segmentation fault error, i dont know why…

I have some problems installing pgi, i followed this guide: https://www.pgroup.com/resources/docs/17.10/x86/pgi-install-guide/index.htm#install-linux-pgi, and i can compile simple programs, although i experience some problems, for example:

everytime i run with -Minfo:accel option to get the messages, but only the first time i run the problem i get the messages, after that i just receive the result of the program;
Another problem is that when my pc starts, pgi is not recognized, i need to do this steps every time:

$ export PGI=/opt/pgi;
$ export PATH=/opt/pgi/linux86-64/17.10/bin:$PATH;
$ export MANPATH=$MANPATH:/opt/pgi/linux86-64/17.10/man;
$ export LM_LICENSE_FILE=$LM_LICENSE_FILE:/opt/pgi/license.dat;

Also, if i run pgaccelinfo with sudo, i get “command not found”

Hi Caap,

So, if i understood, running with “make jsolvec.exe OPT=”-ta:tesla:cc50 -Minfo=accel" it will run on my gtx?

The cc50 option will tell the compiler to target a Maxwell based device, including a GTX950.