Compiling / linking CUDA apps?

I hope you guys can excuse my making a total noob post, but I can’t seem to figure out how to compile a program that has a CUDA component (other than the SDK examples, which compiled fine).

I have a very simple .cu file, which I hope will work (I don’t care if it’s efficient at this point, as I just want to see something come out of the GPU). All it does is a simple blur on a fixed-size monochrome image:

__global__ void simpleBlur( float*, float* );

void blur( float* inputImg, float* outputImg ) {

int imgSize = 1024 * 650 * sizeof( float );

float *devIpt;

float *devOpt;

cudaMalloc((void**)&devIpt, imgSize);

cudaMalloc((void**)&devOpt, imgSize);

cudaMemcpy( devIpt, inputImg, imgSize, cudaMemcpyHostToDevice );

dim3 dimBlock( 9, 9 );

dim3 dimGrid( 1016, 642 );

simpleBlur<<<dimGrid, dimBlock>>>( devIpt, devOpt );

cudaMemcpy( outputImg, devOpt, imgSize, cudaMemcpyDeviceToHost );

}

__global__ void simpleBlur( float* input, float* output ) {

int blkOffset = blockIdx.x + 1016 * blockIdx.y;

output[ blkOffset ] += input[ blkOffset + threadIdx.x + 1016 * threadIdx.y ];

__syncthreads();

}

I can get it to compile into an object file using NVCC, but I’m not sure what includes to use / libraries to link from the main module (the linker gives me a bunch of not-defined errors, so I’m definitely missing something). Trying to insert it in with the rest of the code and compile it all with nvcc gives me some error about exception handling being disabled.

So, can anybody suggest a simple way to access a CUDA kernel from another program, without modifying that program too much (preferably by linking them pre-compiled, or making a shared object)?

I have plugins for the gimp working fine, so it’s definitely possible to integrate with anther code base. To be fair, the gimp plug-in architecture does make this pretty straight forward.