Complete beginner attempting to build/edit kernels

I have just made the move to ubuntu/linux after spending all my computing life in windows and everything here is new to me.

This is everything I’ve done so far :

I have just formatted my SD card and flashed the sd card image found here : https://developer.nvidia.com/embedded/learn/get-started-jetson-nano-devkit#write . Upon setting up my account, I went to the JetsonHacksNano github, GitHub - JetsonHacksNano/buildKernelAndModules: Build the Linux Kernel and Modules on board the NVIDIA Jetson Nano Developer Kit , to get the scripts for building the kernels and modules.

I am trying to get my LTE modem to work for a school project on drones and I came across this website: https://github.com/etu/gentoo-hardware-notes/blob/master/12d1:1506_Huawei_Technologies_Co._Ltd._Modem_Networkcard.org . In this guide, they mention something about kernel configs required to get the device working.

In the git clone I got from JetsonHacksNano, there was an editConfig.sh script which I was able to utilize to configure/turn on the required kernels to get my modem to work. However, I don’t know where the config file was saved to.

The config script looks like this:

#!/bin/bash
# Edit the kernel configuration for NVIDIA Jetson Nano Developer Kit, L4T
# Copyright (c) 2016-19 Jetsonhacks 
# MIT License

SOURCE_TARGET="/usr/src"
KERNEL_RELEASE="4.9"

function usage
{
    echo "usage: ./editConfig.sh [[-d directory ] | [-h]]"
    echo "-d | --directory Directory path to parent of kernel"
    echo "-h | --help  This message"
}

# Iterate through command line inputs
while [ "$1" != "" ]; do
    case $1 in
        -d | --directory )      shift
                                SOURCE_TARGET=$1
                                ;;
        -h | --help )           usage
                                exit
                                ;;
        * )                     usage
                                exit 1
    esac
    shift
done