Create a simple replacement of gst-nvinfer

Hi,

I am new to DS.
I want to use the same pipeline in deepstream-test4 but I want to replace gst-nvinfer with my own lib (input is single frame to cv::mat and output is bbox-ed frame). I use ONNX model and Tensort as inference engine but it was all processed in our lib.

What is the best way to replace only gst-nvinfer and keep the same pipeline including metadata of stream ?

Many thanks,

Please provide complete information as applicable to your setup.

• Hardware Platform (Jetson / GPU): Xavier NX
• DeepStream Version: 5.1
• JetPack Version (valid for Jetson only)
• TensorRT Version: 7.2.2.3
• NVIDIA GPU Driver Version (valid for GPU only)
• Issue Type( questions, new requirements, bugs)
• How to reproduce the issue ? (This is for bugs. Including which sample app is using, the configuration files content, the command line used and other details for reproducing)
• Requirement details( This is for new requirement. Including the module name-for which plugin or for which sample application, the function description)

Why can’t you deploy your network with gst-nvinfer?

I had a pre-processing and post-processing step between model inferencing which lead me to spend effort to integrate with gst-nvinfer. So I would think a way to bypass nvinfer but keep stream metadata.

How many models do you have? What kind of “pre-processing and post-processing” steps “between” model inferencing?

Hi Fiona,

I have with one model only. It’s kind of smooth filtering process which applied a set of opencv mathlib.

Also, would you show me the input/output gstbuffer of gst-nvinfer src code ? AFAIK, it do the same as my own lib does: catch every frame and output bboxed-frame ?

The gst-nvinfer is open source. The code is under /opt/nvidia/deepstream/deepstream/sources/gst-plugins/gst-nvinfer

There is a simple introduction of the gst-nvinfer: DeepStream SDK FAQ - Intelligent Video Analytics / DeepStream SDK - NVIDIA Developer Forums

Hi Fiona,