CUDA and Labview

Hello everyone, CUDA noob here. I am trying to implement CUDA into a labview program using the DLL Node within labview. The basic layout of what I am trying to do is this:

1. Acquire data
  2. Do some minor Calculations on the CPU
  3. Allocate Memory on the Video card
  4. Copy data to the GPU
  5. Signal Process on the Video Card
  6. Copy data off the GPU
  7. Display data

The problem I am currently having is during the cudaMalloc step. I am calling cudaMalloc as described in the literature and examples, but it is crashing my labview program. I know that the cudaMalloc is crashing the labview program because I have commented out everything downstream of cudaMalloc, and the DLL crashes labview. When I comment out everything downstream of cudaMalloc AND cudaMalloc, the DLL does not crash labview.

I am able to run all of the pre-compiled .exe files that I have downloaded so far with no errors that I could detect, so I am pretty sure that CUDA is working.

I guess my ultimate question is, “Is there a way to run a CUDA DLL from Labview? Has anyone succesfully done so?” I can give more detailed information if needed.

Thanks,
Austin

Edit: Sorry, but I forgot to mention the amount of memory I am allocating vs. on the card. The card I am using is an 8800 GTS with 320MB of DDR3 memory. I am trying to allocate around 8 - 9 MB of data on the GPU for processing.

Which version of CUDA are you using?

I am using the .8 version from the website. I have downloaded the 97.73 video drivers as well. I should also note that my compiler is Visual Studio 2005 Professional and that I am not receiving any compiler/linker errors.

Thanks,

Austin

Austin,
it is a known bug of 0.8, fixed in 0.9.
If you are not a registered developer, you will need to wait a little bit.

Massimiliano

Is the bug that CUDA can’t run with Labview or that there is a general cudaMalloc error? When is CUDA .9 supposed to be out?