CUDA device not primary display adapter

When using a CUDA device on Windows XP it is recommended to not connect it to a display but to use another NVIDIA card as the primary display adapter.

1. What NVIDIA cards can be used for this? All cards? Any particular cards? What cards are recommended?

2. When using a Tesla card does the problem exist too? Of course one will need a graphics adapter but are other vendors also possible? Can onboard graphics be used together with a Tesla card?

Thanks in advance,
seb

I would really appreciate if someone from NVIDIA or someone with experience regarding the matter could answer this.

I even have a third question:
3) When using the CUDA device for both calculation and as the primary display adapter what are the performance losings compare to a dedicated CUDA device?

1. I have no experience with a multi-display system, but I do know you can only install one display driver. So, the 2nd card must be supported by the driver you are installing. This limits the options for the 2nd card to any recent NVIDIA card, since the newest drivers do start to drop support for extremely old cards.

2. Same answer as (1) as far as I know.

3. As long as there is no software actively using the display (i.e. an updating desktop widget, an updating webpage, or a user moving windows around the screen), I notice no appreciable performance loss.

The loss is measureable, but only if you know what to look for. My application calls 100’s to 1000’s of short kernels per second. If I look at the runtime of each kernel, the average is (for the sake of example) 1.0 ms per launch, but every so many launches takes 1.1ms. I attribute the overhead to some little blip updating on the display requiring a CUDA/graphics “context switch” of some kind. The overall performance loss (measured in linux console vs linux X, I don’t have a 2 display system) is less than 1%.