CUDA on Dell Server with Virtualization

Hello All,

A newbie here looking for some hardware advice. I am starting to mess around with CUDA for a couple of our MatLab and C based apps. I was going to buy a GTX 280 and put it in one of our DELL 2900 severs. Is that a good idea? Long-term , should I build my own box or will the Dell 2900 architecture do the job?

The Dell 2900 has dual Quad cores and 16GB of ram. The base OS is Windows Server 2008 but we have several virtual machines on top of that. Any known issues with virtual machines?

I will probably build an XP virtual machine specfically for CUDA and allocate it about 4GB of RAM and 2 processors. Of course I could build almost any OS/Ram/processor virtual config, so any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Mike

CUDA will not work inside of a virtual machine. The GPU must be fully visible to the OS.

Well, I don’t have a specific answer to your question, but I’ve also done some stuff with server virtualization, and I don’t see how it could work if you plan on running code inside a virtual machine (since the virtual machine doesn’t have access to the “real” machine’s video card.

However, if you’re going to run the code directly on the box, I suppose it could work, but you might run into some performance hits if your virtual machines start taking up a lot of CPU time (and affecting the host/device transfer speed of your CUDA program).

So, short answer – it’s probably a better idea to just build a separate box for this. Remember that CUDA kernels are limited to 5 seconds of runtime if you have a display attached to the card – so make sure to get something with integrated graphics, or get an NVS card (PCI Express x1, I think) for the monitor and the GTX280 to run the CUDA code.

EDIT: Dang, netllama beat me to it…

Wow, thanks for the lightning fast replies.