cufftPlanMany parameter setting

Hi All, I am new to this library (and CUDA). I am trying to use the cufftPlanMany() to perform the following computation and do not know how to set the parameters of cufftPalnMany() correctly. Reading the library manual did not really help; I think Nvidia should have included some diagrams to illustrate what these parameters mean. Here’s what I’m trying to do:

I have a vector of sample values (Real), say of length N, where N is a power of 2. I want to divide this vector into segments of length W, also a power of two. So we can say that N = M*W, where M is the number of segments. Now I want to use cufftPlanMany() to compute the 1D FFT of each segment, so there will be M W-Point 1D FFTs. Then I want to average those M FFTs to produce the desired result. How do I set the parameters to do this? I think the averaging may have to be done subsequently after I get the FFTs.

I don’t really know HOW cufftPlanMany() does what it does, which would have helped me understand the meaning of these parameters.

thanks a million.

The API is documented, and there are 3 code examples in the cufft documentation that indicate how to use cufftPlanMany() in 3 different scenarios.

Perhaps you are getting tripped up on the advanced data layout parameters. These can be essentially disregarded if you have a relatively simple scenario where the data for each signal is in a single group, and the groups are adjacent in memory. We can also considerably simplify the situation for demonstration purposes by performing a C2C transform instead of an R2C transform. And as you point out, the averaging would not be done by CUFFT but by your own supplied kernel. For that you might want to take a look at the new cufft callback feature, but I would start just by getting something basic working.

To that end, here is a sample code that I put together that should hopefully help with understanding cufftPlanMany.

#include <cufft.h>
#include <cuComplex.h>
#include <stdio.h>