Developing Smart Glass to Guide Blind people

Hello,

Hardware: Jetson Nano 4gb- latest version

I am a hobbyist and interested in making smart glass that helps blind people. The glass consists of a mic and a wide camera. the main functions of my glass are:

• Search and Navigate: where is the door? what objects around me? (voice feedback directions)
  • Scan: object detection with (voice output).
  • Read: like newspaper or a book with( narrating voice)
  • Recognizing friends’ faces and save them for later use.

While I’m still in the early stages of the project, I have been kind of lost. I am not sure which platform I should use that would give me the right resources and save me time. So far I am thinking to use Clara Guardian and Transfer Learning Toolkit. Am I picking the right platforms? I would like to hear more opinions from anyone who has experience. My glass mainly works with voice commands. Saying that, which platform is used for conversational voice commands?

Hi @alrah003, you can find some other blind-assistant devices on this page to see how they did it:

Typically, there will be vision DNNs running in PyTorch, TensorFlow, or TensorRT that detect objects, ect.

For voice, you can try out a project I have in beta here: https://github.com/dusty-nv/jetson-voice/tree/dev

I won’t guarantee this, but you should probably know that Clara is intended for use with “not” low power. Take a look at the image here:
https://developer.nvidia.com/clara-agx-devkit

Part of this is just an AGX Xavier (which you probably want for running models, but not for training models), and an RTX 6000 (much much more power hungry, and good for training, but probably not needed for running models).