disable L1 cache on Fermi GPU running OpenCL

Hi everyone,

According to the CUDA programming guide, the L1 cache on a Fermi GPU can be disabled (I’m using a GTX 580) by setting the nvcc compiler flag -Xptxas -dlcm=cg. There is no problem when compiling CUDA code with the flag set, however, if I am using OpenCL, can I do it in the same way? If yes, how shall I do it? I’m not sure if the flag are only available for CUDA compilation at present.

Since I am a newbie to both OpenCL and Fermi, this question might be silly to you. Anyway, any suggestion or clarification is welcome!

Thanks,

This would be really useful to check that the performance doesnt drop through the floor with a non fermi devices which haveno cache:-)

David

If there is such a compiler extension, it is not documented in the “OpenCL Compiler Extenssions” text file, much like the -cl-nv-arch compiler flag.
Let me know if you find it :).

David, there’re more reasons to disable L1 Cache on Fermi. The L1 Cache supports reads in 128bit alignment only. if your kernels are 32 or 64 bit aligned, you might suffer from coalescing issues.

I’m afraid this is a misinterpretation. The L1 always performs naturally aligned 128 Byte (not bit!) read accesses to L2! But it supports quite arbitrary accesses from the compute cores (the same bank conflict rules as for shared memory apply, because it’s the same piece of hardware). In contrast to L2, which has a cache line size of 32B, L1 has a cache line of 128B, an every read miss will fetch a whole 128B line, if necessary from global memory. Therefore bypassing L1 is beneficial for memory accesses that are scattered or have a long stride, because a memory access will fetch only 32B from device memory (allocated in L2) instead of 128B (allocated in L1 and most probably in L2).

See also CUDA C programming Guide 3.2, G.4.2.

Got it, thanks for the clarification.

Could you clarify a little bit more for me?