Error: Target application terminated before first instrumented API call

Hi,
I am new to Cuda profiling. I got an illegal memory access from my code and wanted to use the compute-sanitizer to find the source of the problem. I tried the following command (as admin):

compute-sanitizer --tool memcheck RayTracing.exe

But I get:

========= COMPUTE-SANITIZER
========= Error: Target application terminated before first instrumented API call
========= Tracking kernels launched by child processes requires the --target-processes all option.

I couldn’t find a solution among the topics in this forum that refered to that error.
I am on Windows 11, using the latest cuda 12.3 and Visual Studio.
This might very well be my fault, but the error message does not give me enough information to solve this.
I am happy to add more information if needed.

Thanks in advance.
Kind regards.

Thanks for your post, is program RayTracing.exe running subprocesses? If that is the case, you need to use Sanitizer flag --target-processes all.

Thanks for the response.
Does not appear to be the case. Running with --target-processes all leads to the same message, but without the last line.

Thanks, can you please dump the output of command nvidia-smi and compute-sanitizer --version?

Also, can you double-check RayTracing.exe contains calls to the CUDA runtime API? Add a cudaFree(0); as the first line of your main function and verify whether or not the issue is addressed.

Here are the outputs:

nvidia-smi

Wed Feb 28 20:50:00 2024
+---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------+
| NVIDIA-SMI 546.12                 Driver Version: 546.12       CUDA Version: 12.3     |
|-----------------------------------------+----------------------+----------------------+
| GPU  Name                     TCC/WDDM  | Bus-Id        Disp.A | Volatile Uncorr. ECC |
| Fan  Temp   Perf          Pwr:Usage/Cap |         Memory-Usage | GPU-Util  Compute M. |