extremely new, need advice and info on my setup please.

Hello,

First post here and I am really new to GPGPU computing. I have currently read 2 books on CUDA it doesn’t come close to getting my hands dirty with code, I have just been trying to get the ideas concepts down, while trying to download the CUDA toolkit & SDK (I am out on a job site and our internet connection is far from supreme we have to use an internet sat dish, and the wind gets to mach 5).

Anyway my main development workstation will be a HP Elitebook 8770W 3rd Generation i7 quad core with either the NVIDIA Quadro K5000M or the K4000M Running Windows 7 Pro 64 (waiting upon approval through IT and Corporate billing though my direct manager has approved already). I have requested in my mind a rather powerful beast, compared to the target workstations that will be running the software. My Idea is to have something that will support future generations of our field workstaions, plus being able to test the software in multiple VM’s.

Now for the target platform workstations we have in the field. They are Dell Precision R5400 (rack mount, on most jobs we will run 3 at a time) Intel Xeon E5450 @ 3.0 GHz 4 GB RAM with Nvidia Quadro FX 3700 GPU running Windows XP SP3. Now I know running a 32 bit OS has its disadvantages but the company will not change choice of OS soon. I know that Windows XP SP3 will only handle up to 4 gb ram and only 2 CPU’s (if that’s correct). Now I really need to utilize the GPU to see if I can speed these up.

My main question is, what pit falls will await me just by looking at my setup? Anyone know more limitations the Windows XP SP3 has (I have googled and read the wiki and nothing beyond what I have mentioned). Also the current GPU what issues? I understand it only supports CUDA 1.1

What issues would anyone see that I would have developing on such a different platform.