Fuse Operators

Hi, all.
I’m a beginner cuDNN developer and I’m trying to fuse operators for inference.
When going through the documentation (Developer Guide :: NVIDIA Deep Learning cuDNN Documentation), I learned that this might be done by using backend API. (Please correct me if I’m wrong. I’m not 100% sure because the “seem-to-be” relevant functions are in training library.)
Although this post provides a good high-level overview, I’m still not sure how to actually implement operator fusion.
For example, it seems like the following functions might be necessary.

• cudnnCreateFusedOpsPlan()
  • cudnnCreateFusedOpsVariantParamPack()
  • cudnnCreateFusedOpsConstParamPack()
  • cudnnMakeFusedOpsPlan()
  • cudnnFusedOpsExecute()

Are these sufficient enough to get the right results?
Also, I’m not sure how to pass the input/output tensor information and detailed parameters for convolution, relu, etc.

I went through cuDNN sample codes to find the code example but unfortunately, I had no luck.
If anyone can provide any hint/feedback/idea/code sample, that will be greatly helpful.

Thank you in advance!

Hi Sunggg, cuDNN engineer here! What you have listed are our older fusion APIs (from the v7 era). If you are starting, we suggest you to start with the new v8 graph API via the frontend C++ wrapper for better support and convenience.
You can find the wrapper and fusion code samples here

(search for run_conv_bias_add_activation in cudnn-frontend/conv_sample.cpp at main · NVIDIA/cudnn-frontend · GitHub)

Let us know if you have more questions!

Finally :) Thank you so much!
This is exactly what I’ve been looking for.

One quick question.
Say we provided operations we want to fuse.
Do we have guarantee that all of them will be fused? Or does the engine perform some kind of pattern matching and try its best?
For example, if we provide (conv, batchnorm, relu, add),