FYI: Windows 7 can use cards from multiple vendors

Just thought I’d put a quick post out there, since there’s been a bit of confusion on the forums about running a machine with both nVidia and ATI hardware. I’ve been working with nVidia cards for about 18 months now, but I picked up some ATI hardware today for testing purposes.

The machine I’m using for this setup has the following specs:
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600
4GB DDR2-800 (Crucial or Kingston, I can’t remember which)
Gigabyte GA-EP45-UD3P (1 PCIe 2.0 x16, 1 PCIe 2.0 x8)

I’ve been running the 195.62 drivers and CUDA 2.3 toolkit/SDK on this machine for testing purposes with an EVGA 8800GT. It was the only card in this machine.

Since I only had one slot, and a fairly small power supply in the machine, I tried the smallest card (MSI R5850-PM2D1G OC Radeon HD 5850 1GB). I moved the 8800 GT to the x8 slot, and installed the 5850 in the x16 slot.

This machine only has one monitor (usually), so I connected that to the 5850 (I figured I could try the single-machine debugging workaround with Nexus). I booted Windows, installed the latest ATI driver suite (the Dec '09 version of Catalyst), and restarted. I tried to open the nVidia control panel, and got an error message complaining about no monitors being attached to the card (then it closed).

So, I shut down the computer, dug an old monitor out of the closet, plugged it into the 8800 GT and booted to Windows. The extra monitor turned on when I got to the login prompt, and the desktop extended to it automatically. The nVidia control panel seems to work now (no error messages), but I haven’t tried anything crazy with it (yet!). I ran a few of the pre-compiled CUDA SDK binaries, and they work just fine.

I haven’t tried OpenCL yet (which is the point of this experiment), but I’ll do so later tonight after I install the CUDA 3.0 SDK.