Gym cuda error: no kernel image is available for execution on the device

Hi. I’m new to isaac gym and I’m trying to run some simple code like this:

gym.refresh_actor_root_state_tensor(sim)
gym.set_actor_root_state_tensor(sim, _saved_tensor)

and I got an error like this:

[Error] [carb.gym.plugin] Gym cuda error: no kernel image is available for execution on the device: ../../../source/plugins/carb/gym/impl/Gym/GymPhysXCuda.cu: 937
[Error] [carb.gym.plugin] Failed to fill root state tensor

Actually, if I run something like

• gym.fetch_results(sim, True)
  • gym.refresh_xxx_tensor()
  • gym.set_xxx_tensor()

with gpu pipeline, this error will occur. Other things like gym.acquire_xxx_tensor() seems ok. If I use cpu pipeline, then everything is ok. My pytorch works normally too.

Here’s my environment:

• driver version: 495
  • cuda version: 11.5
  • pytorch version: 1.10.0+cu113

The interaction between gpu pytorch and isaac gym seems not going well. What should I do to make it work?

Hi @moonout ,

Are you able to run the GPU-supported examples or RL examples with the GPU pipeline? It sounds like it could either be a setup issue or possibly something to do with your code.

Thanks for your reply. I run the 1080_balls_of_solitude.py and it seems fine.

Then I run apply_forces.py and the same error occurs:

[Error] [carb.gym.plugin] Gym cuda error: no kernel image is available for execution on the device: ../../../source/plugins/carb/gym/impl/Gym/GymPhysXCuda.cu: 926
[Error] [carb.gym.plugin] Failed to fill rigid body state tensor

I guess it’s a setup issue. It would be nice if you can help with me!

1080_balls_of_solitude.py should not work on gpu pipeline.
How?

Did you modify the source code?

(isaac) sa@Fossa:~/wsp/isaac_3/isaacgym/python/examples$ python apply_forces.py --pipeline gpu
Importing module ‘gym_38’ (/home/sa/wsp/isaac_3/isaacgym/python/isaacgym/_bindings/linux-x86_64/gym_38.so)