HIGHGUI ERROR: V4L/V4L2 while opening camera with OpenCV4Tegra, L4T r24

Hello,
I flashed my TX1 using JetPack 2.2 and installed r24. I am trying to access the camera to capture frames and getting:

HIGHGUI ERROR: V4L/V4L2: VIDIOC_CROPCAP
select timeout
select timeout
Segmentation fault

I ran the following C++ code:

//Build using g++ opencv.cpp `pkg-config --cflags --libs opencv`
#include "opencv2/opencv.hpp"

using namespace cv;

int main(int, char**)
{
    VideoCapture cap(0); // open the default camera
    if(!cap.isOpened())
        return -1;

namedWindow("Preview",1);
    Mat frame;
    for(;;)
    {
        cap >> frame; // get a new frame from camera
        imshow("Preview", frame);
        if(waitKey(2) >= 0) break;
    }
    return 0;
}

I tried reading various other posts here but couldn’t get it to work.
What could be the problem here?

Regards,
Ankit

I’m not an OpenCV developer, but you could compile with debug symbols (-g) and run it in gdb…when it fails get a stack frame with backtrace command (bt). Then “l” to list the lines of code surrounding the seg fault. You may want to manually find out what the output is from the command “pkg-config --cflags --libs opencv” and substitute this directly for the backquoted “pkg-config --cflags --libs opencv”…if there is any optimizing (like -O#), remove that, add the “-g”.

Hi Ankit
I have exactly same error. Did you find a solution to run capture device?
Thanks,
-Sezai

Hi ankitdhall and Sezai,

With default camera, you will need to use “nvcamerasrc” pipeline instead of the default OpenCV cam value(-1 or 0).

see here: [url]https://devtalk.nvidia.com/default/topic/925923/jetson-tx1/can-not-open-the-camera-on-tx1-via-opencv/post/4841289/#4841289[/url]

Thanks

Hello kayccc,
I tried that as well but the device is unable to open the camera.