How to collect all intersections using anyhit?

Dear All,

Similar to Processing intersections in order, I’m trying to process all intersections along a ray while modifying a payload on every hit then collect the hit information in raygen program. Curently, I’m calling closehit for multiple times for each ray, but the rendering speed is quite limited when the number of triangles in each mesh goes larger.

I kind of what to try the anyhit approach. i.e. shoting only one ray and modify the anyhit shader to modify the payload of each intersection and collect all payloads in the raygen program.

However, I’m a newbie to optix, and gets confused about

• What kind of Payload data structure to use as the number of intersections is different for each ray?
  • What should I do to modify the Payload in anyhit?
  • And especially, how to collect those intersections in raygen so I can write a custom cuda kernel to sort or interpolate between them?

Can anyone kindly provide some example code blocks?

Best,
Ree

Hi Ree,

One example along these lines that we’ve published in the past is optixParticleVolumes; it collects multiple hits using the anyhit program, and then sorts the results in t-order back in the raygen program (because anyhit programs are not guaranteed to be called in t-order along a ray). optix_advanced_samples/src/optixParticleVolumes at master · nvpro-samples/optix_advanced_samples · GitHub

That sample uses OptiX 6, which we don’t recommend using for new projects. But you can study the payload and data handling and sorting process. You can easily do the same thing using OptiX 7.

Some OptiX 7 SDK amples that demonstrate use of anyhit programs are optixCutouts and optixWhitted.