Ray-triangles intersection when ray origin is inside multiple triangles

Hi, I’m trying to launch a ray whose origin is contained inside multiple triangles and get the primitive IDs of all the triangles within which it is contained. My scene only contains triangles. Since the ray origin is inside the triangles, I get tmax= 0 on ray-triangle intersection and I can’t just generate another ray with new origin as the hit point(hit_t = origin + tmax * direction) of the previous intersection as suggested by some other posts on this forum.

This is an example of my scene:
Triangle-1: (-1,2,0) (1,-2,0) (2,0,0)
Triangle-2: (-0.5,2,0) (0.5,-2,0) (2.5,0,0)
Ray Origin: (0,0,0)
Ray Direction: arbitrary

I am new to Optix and from what I’ve read so far, it seems like the any_hit program might be useful for this but result in slowdowns. Is there a way in which I can launch a single ray, with its origin inside multiple triangle primitives and arbitrary direction, and get back the ID of all such triangles? Thanks!

Hi @n16, welcome!

Our warnings against any-hit programs are really only intended to make people aware of the costs of any-hit in cases where any-hit is not actually needed. This is mostly because any-hit programs are turned on by default and you have to opt-out. Sometimes, any-hit programs are needed, and in that case I don’t want people to feel bad about using the feature as it was intended.

There are three ways I can think of to collect multiple hits along a ray: (1) any-hit, (2) use side-effect code in an intersection program, and (3) iteratively query for the closest hit and then re-cast a new ray from the previous hit point.