Ray Mesh Intersections

Hi,

Looking for some advice.

I am interested in an application which simply aims at returning all intersections of a given ray with a number of meshes. I am just starting out with Optix and trying to wrap my head around it.

Is it the right tool for the job here? It seems like I am using a very low level/small part of Optix (versus switching to something written in CUDA by hand); and perhaps I would not be leveraging the advantages that Optix would bring. I can get the results I need using Embree; and this seems somewhat similar to Optix prime which appears now to be deprecated.

Assuming Optix is an appropriate tool; how would I go about finding all intersections? My reading around suggests using the any hit program; and a pointer in the ray payload to store intersections results (the t value and the ID of the mesh), since the required intersection data would in general exceed the allowance of 8 registers for the payload.

I’ve not managed to find any examples of using pointers in the payload even though the docs suggest it is possible?

So my questions are :

1. Is Optix the right solution for the given problem?
  2. Is there an example somewhere of storing data in an array; through a pointer in the ray payload?
  3. Even better… is there an example somewhere which already solves my problem; finding all ray-mesh intersections?

Thanks!

1 Like

Hi there, hopefully I can help.

OptiX is a great choice for pure ray-casting, and I’d say you do leverage main advantages of OptiX, which is the GPU hardware acceleration of traversal and triangle intersection. That said, if Embree gives you what you need, it’s certainly worth considering if it’s adequate for the job, and whether OptiX gives you anything you want beyond that. The main thing OptiX can give you is speed, but that speed comes with a few tradeoffs of the GPU engineering being a little more involved, and the cost of getting data to and from the GPU.