How to efficiently modify a very big sized device array using CUDA kernel ?

Hi

I want to modify a very big device array of size(NCH*W) efficiently. I tried below approach but it’s taking a lot of time in NVPROF. Can someone suggest a better solution ?

global void modifyArray( float* data_d, float a, b, int noOfElements)
{
int i = blockIdx.x * blockDim.x + threadIdx.x;
float c = (255.0)*(128.0)/ a / b;
if(i < noOfElements)
{
data_d[i] = (data_d[i]/c);
}

}

Calling this kernel as below:

modifyArray<<<((NCHW)/1024) + 1, 1024>>>( data_d , a, b, NCHW);

Here, taking 1024 threads per block.

I am not very good at threads and blocks which here might do the trick very well.
Can anyone please suggest how to reduce the time taken by this kernel in NVPROF?

Thanks in advance!

__global__ void modifyArray( float* data_d, float factor, int noOfElements)
{
if(i < noOfElements)
  {
  data_d[i] *= factor);
  }

}

modifyArray<<<((N*C*H*W)/1024) + 1, 1024>>>( data_d , (b*a)/(255.0*128.0), N*C*H*W);

Your kernel at this point should be memory-bound.

The profiler should be telling you that your code is memory bound. With modern processors (in particular GPUs), this is often the case. Moving around data is expensive, doing computation is cheap, both in terms of execution time and in terms of energy expended. So what can you do? Increase the amount of computation performed per unit of data moved. Presumably there are other processing steps in your application besides simply scaling all the elements of this array by a particular factor. Examine how you can combine those with the scaling step, with a goal of minimizing overall data movement.