How to utilise GPU purely for physics simulation

Hi everyone,

I have briefly looked into parts of the PhysX SDK, but apart from that am a complete noob of PhysX. Having said that, I am not incompetent (I am studying Computer Science and work as a software developer), so please don’t take my ignore for PhysX as an ignorance for programming.

To get straight to the point and cut a long story short, I am currently using Blender (via it’s Python API) as a physics engine from a very high level. I.e. I load in OBJ files, set some of them as collision objects, set some as cloths, run the simulation and then export the resulting OBJ file (all using Python commands).

This is great, but the problem is that it’s too slow for my requirements and I wondered if I could use the power of GPUs to accelerate the computation. Did some research and found that the physics engine that Blender uses (Bullet physics) is currently developing code to utilise OpenCL GPU technology.

Seeing as this is a work in progress I did more research and was led to believe that NVIDIA is already utilising GPUs for physics simulation via PhysX, which brings me here.

The level of documentation I have been looking for has been hard to come by, so I defaulted to looking at the PhysX source code and experimenting for myself. It seems like there is ability to use the GPU for physics simulation, but when I tried it I kept getting error messages along the lines of:
“Failed to create cloth GPU. Failling back to CPU implementation”, even though my GPU is an NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti (which supposedly supports PhysX). I should mention that I am running Linux x64.

So my question is: can I use PhysX to run physics engine code on a Linux x64 OS and a NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti GPU?
Why am I getting those error messages? I wish they were more detailed so I can figure out what’s causing them.

P.S. I have the latest NVIDIA drivers installed and also the CUDA toolkit 6 installed.