Install debian package on TX1 target file system

Hi,

Nvidia has a vanilla target file system for TX1. Is it possible to install for example a .deb package ( for example Cuda ) on this file system?
The purpose is to create a complete file system on the host and flash it to TX1 without the need to run any post-installation (for example cuda debian pakcage) script.

Thanks.

'my guess would be the biggest hurdle would be the drivers. i’d wonder how “generic” they would be outside of the specific o/s they were developed in and for, that being their flavor of proprietary ubuntu. but good luck.

So what are my options to create a target file system with all required debian packages( for example libcudnn, opencv, libnvinfer)?
Another option is to copy to debian packages to the target (TX1) and install the packages after boot.

i’m not an expert on debian or ubuntu or the tx1 for that matter. but nvidia folks are wizards when it comes to getting specific packages to work with specific drivers all requiring specific libraries. my point is when you move outside that comfort zone you are probably leaving what they consider their “area of support” in that they most likely can not say one way or the other if what you want to do will work and depending on case load and verification needed to respond might not consider it in their job description. but, good luck.

The “.deb” files work normally on a Jetson. If you have the “.deb”, then it works like any other Ubuntu. What differs is the repository to find CUDA (and related) in, which in turn is a difference in how it is distributed.

A second difference is if the package adds to a non-tracked system location and adds or removes content which dpkg would be unaware of (not everything in “/usr/local/” will respond to name a “.deb” which owns the content even if a “.deb” file put the content there…it depends on the “.deb” which put it there).