installing trial on mac os x

I have gone through all of the steps for downloading a trial version of the PGI workstation on Mac OS X but can’t seem to overcome the final hurdle of testing the temporary license and starting PGI.

Part of the confusion is that I am new to Mac, thought I was installing a student trial of visual fortran on Mac when really it was the workstation (visual studio not available for Mac), have tried using vmware fusion w/ win. xp on the mac to use the student trial of visual fortran but ran into an error with 64 vs. 32-bit compiler. Basically, I’m in an installation nightmare that is probably self-induced, although I have a couple of tips for the PG group if they are interested in making their software download a bit more of an enjoyable experience. All this to say that I am trying to keep my cool and determined to figure out what isn’t working.

Here is what I have done.

Following the installation instructions:

% setenv PGI /opt/pgi
% set path=(/opt/pgi/osx86-64/8.0/bin $path)
% setenv MANPATH "$MANPATH":/opt/pgi/osx86-64/8.0/man
% setenv LM_LICENSE_FILE \
“$LM_LICENSE_FILE":/opt/pgi/license.dat

I get the following error <Unmatched ".>

I tried this before and thought it worked, but I may have just missed this error.

The set path command seems to have worked.
% echo $PATH

gives:
/opt/pgi/osx86-64/8.0/bin:/sw/bin:/sw/sbin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/texbin:/usr/X11/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin

Next, if I just keep on plugging away and try
%pgf77 -V x.f

I get:

[echidna:~] rmueller% pgf77 -V x.f

pgf77 8.0-3 64-bit target on Apple OS/X 
Copyright 1989-2000, The Portland Group, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.
Copyright 2000-2008, STMicroelectronics, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.
NOTE: your trial license will expire in 14 days, 7.03 hours.
PGFTN/x86-64 OSX 8.0-3
Copyright 1989-2000, The Portland Group, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.
Copyright 2000-2008, STMicroelectronics, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.