Introducing Low-Level GPU Virtual Memory Management

Originally published at: https://developer.nvidia.com/blog/introducing-low-level-gpu-virtual-memory-management/

Figure 1. Example of using the cuMem* CUDA APIs to resize a GPU buffer. There is a growing need among CUDA applications to manage memory as quickly and as efficiently as possible. Before CUDA 10.2, the number of options available to developers has been limited to the malloc-like abstractions that CUDA provides.  CUDA 10.2 introduces…

1 Like

I’m a beginner of low-level-gpu-virtual-memory-management. I learned the vecAdd example. I think it wouldn’t be hurt to confirm my understanding with you here.

1. Low-level-gpu-virtual-memory-management can avoid overhead from message passing interface, such as nvshmem. Instead of put/get data from remote memory, Low-level-gpu-virtual-memory-management allows N device (assume N device on one node) to access the virtual memory. Would that be correct?

2. I’m thinking about how to refactor an existing MPI code to low-level-gpu-virtual-memory-management code. I’m confused about how to do it. If I still want to keep the MPI concept in the code, let’s say one MPI rank per gpu, but instead of using MPI, I want to use low-level-gpu-virtual-memory-management, is that feasible? I simply tried multi-MPI of vectorAddMMAP, however, it just repeated N times when running with N MPI. Any suggestions of using low-level-gpu-virtual-memory-management in a MPI code?

Hello Nan1215, thanks for commenting! I’ve replied to each of your questions below, respectively: