Jetson Nano - Editing DTB file to interface with hardware

I am trying to connect a CAN shield with the jetson nano but I am having trouble finding instructions online to access + edit the DTB file to be able to interface with the hardware.

From what I have come across online, the way to go seems to be to completely rebuild the kernel and modify the DTB file that way

As I’m a beginner with this, I have some basic questions about the process of rebuilding kernel. Is this done on another computer then flashed to the jetson, or is there a way to access + modify the DTB file on the jetson nano itself?

It would also be really helpful if someone can post the step-by-step instructions to either modify the DTB file or rebuild the kernel (the links instructions I have found online don’t seem to work)

Shika

Some information you might find useful…

The device tree can be built with the kernel source, but doing so is not building a kernel at all. The device tree is essentially a set of arguments you can pass to various drivers as they load (arguments to the function call). Technically, the device tree is not part of the kernel. The reason you can build this from the kernel is that arguments to different drivers only apply if that driver is used, and when you configure a kernel, then it makes sense to use that configuration to build a device tree. Consider building a device tree with the kernel source to simply be sharing of the Kconfig mechanism to pick possible arguments which apply only to selected drivers. The actual kernel is not built.

Aside from building a device tree via kernel source there are many other ways to work with this. The tool “dtc” (device tree compiler) can take a source (“.dts”) tree and convert back and forth with an object file (“.dtb” files). This tool can also use a directory tree to create a source or binary file.