Mpif90 and nfvortran compatibility issues

Hello. I am very new to CUDA, especially with Fortran. I am also a novice with makefiles, generally borrowing from others. Hopefully I’m not making an embarrassingly simple mistake!

I am having an issue compiling a project that uses both CUDA and MPI. I am using the nvfortran compiler for CUDA and mpif90 for MPI. Basically, from my main program I want to “use CUDA_module” and “use MPI_module”. However, when compiling my main f90 file with mpif90 I get the error:

mpif90 -O0 -Mbounds -traceback -cuda -c main.f90
ifort: command line warning #10006: ignoring unknown option ‘-Mbounds’
ifort: command line warning #10006: ignoring unknown option ‘-cuda’
main.f90(4): error #7013: This module file was not generated by any release of this compiler. [CUDAMOD]
use cudamod

I have seen the following threads which are similar:

However the first two are at the linking stage, while I’m still compiling, and either way my -Mbounds and -cuda flags are being ignored anyways. I’m not sure if the last one is an issue since based on the table at
https://www2.cisl.ucar.edu/resources/computational-systems/cheyenne/code-development-support/compiling-code
it seems like mpif90 and nvfortran should be compatible. Note I am not at UCAR but using a different computing cluster, which may be why I do not see compatibility?

I am trying this with a very simple code that essentially just initializes MPI, then initializes a GPU, then prints a bunch of hello worlds before finalizing MPI. The codes are:

main.f90

program mpicuda

use mpimod
use cudamod

implicit none

integer :: i, rank

call mpiinit(rank)
call usegpu(rank)

do i = 1,10
   print*,"Hello world ",i," from rank ",rank
end do

call finilizempi()

end program

mpimod.f90

module mpimod

use MPI

contains

subroutine mpiinit(myrank)
         implicit none

integer, intent(out) :: myrank
         integer :: rank, ierr, num_procs

call MPI_INIT(ierr)