My first CUDA project crash when executed (but it compiles) why ?

Hi

I am a big beginner in CUDA programming and I have some questions.

When I create a new CUDA project in visual studio 2013 by doing :

File > New > Project > Nvidia > Cuda 8.0

I can compile and execute the code inside without any problems.

But when I copy-paste this code :

#include <iostream>
#include <math.h>
// Kernel function to add the elements of two arrays
__global__
void add(int n, float *x, float *y)
{
  for (int i = 0; i < n; i++)
    y[i] = x[i] + y[i];
}

int main(void)
{
  int N = 1<<20;
  float *x, *y;

// Allocate Unified Memory – accessible from CPU or GPU
  cudaMallocManaged(&x, N*sizeof(float));
  cudaMallocManaged(&y, N*sizeof(float));

// initialize x and y arrays on the host
  for (int i = 0; i < N; i++) {
    x[i] = 1.0f;
    y[i] = 2.0f;
  }

// Run kernel on 1M elements on the GPU
  add<<<1, 1>>>(N, x, y);

// Wait for GPU to finish before accessing on host
  cudaDeviceSynchronize();

// Check for errors (all values should be 3.0f)
  float maxError = 0.0f;
  for (int i = 0; i < N; i++)
    maxError = fmax(maxError, fabs(y[i]-3.0f));
  std::cout << "Max error: " << maxError << std::endl;

// Free memory
  cudaFree(x);
  cudaFree(y);

return 0;
}

(the code comes from here : https://devblogs.nvidia.com/parallelforall/even-easier-introduction-cuda/ )

The program compiles but crash on execution.

But I know this code perfectly works as before I just replaced one of the CUDA examples given when we install it by this code, and it compiled and ran without a problem.

But when I want to do things “properly” by creating a new project, this project crash on execution.

Could someone help me to understand why it crash and how to fix it ?

I am really a big beginner as well in CUDA as in the usage of visual studio (I know C++ but never really used either CUDA or visual studio to code). So the mistake is probably very stupid.