New to CUDA, simple kernel gives output of zero

I’m a programmer new to CUDA, looking to use GPGPU in a certain embarrassingly parallel problem I’m working on. I recently found out that my crappy integrated Geforce 8200 chipset actually supports CUDA, so I installed drivers for it, hooked up a second display, installed the SDK and examples, and actually got the example apps to run on the hardware.

Next, I tried following a tutorial to get a simple floating point benchmark running. It’s a program I write and use all the time, in various languages, using different compilers and optimization techniques, to see what kind of performance each system offers. The program is a (slow and inaccurate) Monte Carlo method of calculating pi, which is heavily dependent on floating point performance. I love this problem for benchmarking because it’s easy to write, and embarrassingly parallel.

So I wrote a version of this program using CUDA, and the API has been surprisingly easy to learn and use, I must say. However, I have run into a confusing problem. Whenever I run my application, the output from the GPU is always an array full of zeros. I’m not sure what I’m doing wrong here, and I would greatly appreciate the advice of people more experienced in this.

#include <iostream>

#include <stdio.h>

#include <cuda.h>

#include <ctime>

#include <cmath>

using namespace std;

__global__ void withinCircle(float* x, float* y, float* out, unsigned int num)

{

int idx = blockIdx.x * blockDim.x + threadIdx.x;

out[idx] = sqrt((x[idx] * x[idx]) + (y[idx] * y[idx]));

}

int main()

{

unsigned int iterations = 100000000;

srand(time(NULL));

// Host pointers

float *randomX, *randomY, *out; 

// Device pointers

float *gRandomX, *gRandomY, *gOut;

randomX = new float[iterations];

randomY = new float[iterations];

out = new float[iterations];

cudaMalloc((void**) &gRandomX, iterations);

cudaMalloc((void**) &gRandomY, iterations);

cudaMalloc((void**) &gOut, iterations);